Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Phoenix VA Health Care System

Menu
Menu
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellowship - Endocrine Section Directory

Links: Program Description / RotationsDivision Conferences / Master Conference Schedule /  Research Programs / Endocrine Section Directory / Application Instructions 


VA Endocrine Faculty

S. Mitchell Harman, MD, PhD
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
CAPT US Public Health Service, retired
Professor, Clinical Medicine, U of AZ College of Medicine
Director, Research, Kronos Institute
602-277-5551, ext. 7095
Sherman.harman@va.gov
Harman@KronosInstitute.org

Peter Reaven, MD
Director, Diabetes Research Program
Professor of Clinical Medicine, U of Arizona
Adjunct Research Professor, ASU
602-277-5551, ext. 6875
peter.reaven@va.gov

Beejal Shah, MD
Staff Physician
602-277-5551, ext. 5746
beejal.shah@va.gov

Elena Plummer, MD
Staff Physician
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, U of Arizona
(602) 277-5551 ext. 5673
elena.plummer@va.goc 

Jerome Targovnik, MD
Staff Physician
docglands@cox.net 

Sylvia Vela, MD
Deputy Chief of Staff
602-277-5551, ext. 6446

VA Research Faculty

Janet Fawcett, PhD
Research Methodologist
(602)277-5551, ext. 5930
Janet.fawcett@va.gov

VA Radiology/Nuclear Medicine

Michelle Dorsey, MD
Physician, Nuclear Medicine, Dept. of Radiology
602-277-5551, ext. 6352
michelle.dorsey@va.gov

Edwin Goldstein, MD FACR
Chief, Nuclear Medicine & PET/CT
602-277-5551, ext. 4781
edwin.goldstein@va.gov

Thyroid & Parathyroid Surgery

Richard Lopchinsky, MD
Clinical Professor of Surgery,
University of AZ School of Medicine – Phoenix Campus
VA Chief, ENT / Head & Neck Service

Banner Good Samaritan Hospital Endocrine Faculty

Vijaya Chockalingam, MD
Sathya Jyotinagraram, MD
Philip Levy, MD

Off-site Volunteer Faculty

Joan Bailey, MD
Endocrinology Private Practice

Dan Duick, MD
Endocrinology Private Practice

Richard Gerkin, MD
Epidemiologist, Banner Good Samaritan Hospital

William White, MD
Neurosurgery Barrow’s Neurological Institute

Endocrine Fellows (2014)

Manal Alhakim, MD
(602)277-5551, ext. 5246
Manal.Alhakim@va.gov

Gauri Behari, MD
(602) 277-5551 ext. 5934
Gauri.Behari@va.gov

Richa Bhattarai, MD
(602)277-5551, ext. 5936
Richa.Bhattarai@va.gov

Brown, Steven L., DO
(602) 277-5551 ext. 5948
Steven.Brown6@va.gov

Endocrine Staff

Garner, Cynthia E.
Nurse Practitioner
602-277-5551 x6820
Cynthia.Garner@va.gov

Williamson, Kristin A.
Physican Assistant
(602)277-5551, ext 7998
Kristin.Williamson4@va.gov

John Matchette
Physican Assistant
Certified Diabetes Educator
(602)277-5551, ext. 6114
john.matchette@va.gov 

Stephanie Brigham BSN, RN
602-277-5551 ext3763
stephanie.brigham@va.gov

Becky Miller
Endocrine PSA
(602)277-5551, ext. 5817
rebecca.miller4@va.gov 

Endocrine Fellowship Coordinator 

Antoinette Whatley
Fellowship Coordinator
Pulm/Critical Care, GI, Endocrine
Banner University Medical Center-Phoenix
1111 E. McDowell Rd.
Medical Education, LL2
Phoenix, AZ 85006
602-839-2792 office
602-839-2084 fax
Antoinette.whatley@bannerhealth.com